User roles determine what rights users have in Rentman. All users in Rentman are assigned a role, that determines what modules and functions they can access and what modifications they can make. For example, warehouse workers don't need to have the same abilities in Rentman as an account manager. With user roles, you can also make sure that not everyone can look into financial details.
Example: Kevin is a freelancer who regularly works for you. For him, relevant functions are seeing the projects that he's planned on and perhaps printing packaging slips. When creating his account, you assign him a 'Freelancer' role. With this, Kevin can view his schedule and the projects he's planned on, but he can't edit them or access financial details.
Rentman distinguishes between Power users and non-Power users. Only Power users can do the following:
- Create, edit and delete projects
- Create, edit and delete invoices, contracts and quotations
- Create payment reminders, change payment statuses
- Add crew members and edit the crew planner schedule
- Send crew invites and planning e-mails
- Access the configuration module to configure advanced settings in Rentman
Read more in our dedicated article about Power users.
Your license determines the maximum amount of Powerusers you can have. You can't assign a another Power user role if this isn't covered by your license. Read our article about Adding power users if you want to expand the amount of Power users.
Accounts that don't have Power user rights, still have access to most modules and options in Rentman. You can have an unlimited amount of these accounts. For an overview of rights and abilities for accounts without Power user rights, read the frequently asked questions in our article about Power users.
Default user roles
In Rentman, you'll find a number of default user roles. These are based on different groups of users of the software.
You can find them in the Configuration module > Account > User roles.
Default user role
Can only view their own schedule. This role is automatically assigned to new users. You cannot turn accounts with this role into a Power user.
Full rights to view and edit in Rentman.
Minimal rights, users can view their own schedule and relevant details of the projects on which they are planned. No rights to edit.
Can view all modules and edit specific options. Can keep overview of the planning, finances, contacts and equipment from the office.
Add a user role
Note: Only Powerusers can add or edit a user role.
- Go to the Configuration module > Account > User roles.
- Choose Add.
- Enter a name for your user role (for example, 'Warehouse staff').
- For each module, you decide what rights the user has. Non-selected modules will stay invisible for the user.
Below, you can read how to further configure user roles.
Edit a user role
- Double click a user role to edit its information.
- By selecting a module , users get access to it. This means that they can view, but not edit information in that module.
- By expanding a module, you can configure the rights to edit. You can only do this if you've selected that module .
Power user rights
Some functionalities in the software are only available to Power users. These are indicated in red cursive tekst. At the top of the screen, you can see whether Power user roles are required for the current role.
Rentman tip: We recommend being cautious with giving rights to delete items from the database. A deleted item will influence all projects that this item is (and was) planned on.
Assign a user role
- Go to the Crew members module.
- Double click a crew member to edit his/her details.
- Under Login details, find the User role field.
- Choose the user role you want to assign.
- Save your changes.
When you're in the Crew members module, you can view the User role column to see what role your crew members currently have.